Collin County Meth Drug Charges
Methamphetamine is a drug that faces serious charges all over Texas. Meth possession is a crime that is punished severely so if you or anyone related to you is facing methamphetamine-related charges, you should get help from a criminal defense lawyer immediately as penalties on meth in Texas are very harsh, and even a small amount of possession can result in a felony charge. Contact a good lawyer as soon as possible because any delay in defense can lead to terrible consequences. A skilled attorney will be able to guide you better and provide you with consultation and evaluation of your case-specific facts. He/ she will conduct an aggressive defense on your behalf, which can lead to your charges being reduced or even dismissed.
Punishments for Meth Crimes
The Texas Controlled Substances Act classify meth as a Penalty Group 1 controlled substance. The penalties on meth possession are mostly felony sentence requiring more than 180 days in state jail and fine of over $10,000. The penalties are based on the amount of meth found in possession.
Penalties on Possession of Meth
Less than one gram of meth in possession is a State Jail Felony Sentence, which results in punishment for 180 days to 2 years in a state jail, and the person has to pay up to $10,000 fine.
Less than four grams in possession is a Third-Degree Felony Sentence, which results in punishment for 2 to 10 years in prison, and the person has to pay up to $10,000 fine.
Less than two hundred grams in possession is a Second-Degree Felony Sentence, which results in punishment for 2 to 20 years in prison, and the person has to pay up to $10,000 fine.
Less than four hundred grams in possession is a First-Degree Felony Sentence, which results in punishment for 5 to 99 years in prison, and the person has to pay up to $10,000 fine.
Four hundred or more grams in possession is an Enhanced First-Degree Sentence which results in punishment for 10 to 99 years in prison, and the person has to pay up to $100,000 fine.
Penalty on Manufacturing, Distributing, or Intent To Distribute Meth
Penalties on distributing, manufacturing, or even intention to distribute range from 180 days to 99 years in a state jail and fine can go to maximum of $250,000. The severity of penalty depends upon the weight of meth found in possession.
In Collin County, as per Texas laws, you can even get your license suspended for up to 6 months if you are convicted for meth possession.
Therefore, if any of your loved one is facing this serious situation, the best thing you should do to get them cleared is to call an experienced attorney to save them. Make sure you are connected with the right attorney in Collin County who can fight meth-related cases and help the accused prove their innocence and come out clean. Thus be quick and contact now!