Marijuana charges in Hood County
Every county in Texas treats Marijuana possession and distributing charges severely, and so does the Hood County. Committing a Marijuana-related offense is not a small deal. It can lead to long sentences with a fairly high amount of fine. A person’s life can get ruined if they are even accused of dealing with marijuana as it is a high-intensity offense and the consequences can be grave enough to destroy the personal and professional life of the convict.
So to protect oneself from such harsh charges, a person needs to get in touch with a skilled and experienced attorney who can deal with such charges in Hood County. There should be no delay because sooner the lawyer gets to know about the fact, the quicker he/she can deal with the complications and help the person progress forward. They will be able to evaluate and control the case better if they are contacted as soon as possible, and the chances of successfully dismissing or reducing charges are increased.
Definition of Marijuana in Hood County
Hood County is a part of Texas, so it follows the Texas Health & Safety Code. As per the code, Marijuana is described as the plant Cannabis sativa L., whether it is the grown plant or the seed, and also the compounds, derivatives, salts, mixture, or any other preparation made from the plant or its seeds.
Possessing marijuana punishment in Hood County
Weight Sentence Penalty Fine
> two ounces Class B Misdemeanor county jail: Up to 180 days in Up to $2,000
> four ounces Class A Misdemeanor county jail: Up to one year Up to $4,000
> 5 pounds State Jail Felony state jail: 180 days to 2 years Up to $10,000
> 50 pounds Third-Degree Felony state prison: 2 to 10 years Up to $10,000
> 2,000 pounds Second-Degree Felony state prison: 2 to 20 years Up to $10,000
2,000 + pounds Enhanced-First Degree state prison: 5 to 99 years Up to $50,000
Distributing marijuana penalty in Hood County
Weight Sentence Punishment Fine
> ¼ ounce (not for payment) Class B Misdemeanor county jail: Up to 180 days in Up to $2,000
> ¼ ounce (for payment) Class A Misdemeanor county jail: Up to one year Up to $4,000
¼ – > 5 pounds State Jail Felony state jail: 180 days to 2 years Up to $10,000
> 50 pounds Second -Degree Felony state prison: 2 to 20 years Up to $10,000
> 2,000 pounds First-Degree Felony state prison: 5 to 99 years Up to $10,000
2,000 + pounds Enhanced-First Degree state prison: 10 to 99 years Up to $100,000
If you know a person who has been accused with any of the above charges, then the best way to help them is to hire a skilled attorney based in Hood County. Save them from these severe charges by connecting them with a skillful and knowledgeable lawyer who knows the ins and outs of Hood County’s Marijuana regulations.