Class C Misdemeanor Texas

Class C misdemeanor is punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. [Tex. Penal Code §12.23]

If a person is on trial for a Class C offense under Section 42.01
(Disorderly Conduct) or 49.02 (Public Intoxication) and it is shown that
the person has been convicted under either of those sections three times
or three times for any combination of those offenses and each prior
offense was committed in the 24 months preceding the date of
commission of the instant offense, on conviction the defendant shall be
punished by:
• Confinement in jail for not more than 180 days
• A fine not to exceed $2,000
• Both such fine and confinement

Do I have to report a Class C Misdemenor?

Conviction of a Class C misdemeanor does not impose any legal disability or disadvantage. [Tex. Penal Code §12.03(c)]

How does the Texas legislature define “legal disability” and “legal disadvantage”?

 

Other States have defined “legal disability” and “legal disadvantage” to mean:

That the Legislature did not intend persons convicted of minor civil violations to suffer the negative repercussions associated with having a criminal record.  Shall not be deemed to be an arrest․ Similarly, payment of any fines imposed therefor shall be inadmissible in any proceeding, civil or criminal, to establish the conduct of the person․

 

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *