Charges against marijuana in Collin County

If you or someone you love has been arrested due to possession or delivering of marijuana, then you can face dire consequences. A conviction for a marijuana charge can have lasting repercussions, impacting your future career, and educational opportunities. So contact a good attorney at Collin County and hire for yourself a lawyer that can effectively defend you and protect you from prosecutions and successfully reduce or even dismiss the charges against you.

Legal Definition of Marijuana:

As per the Chapter number seventeen of the Texas Health & Safety Code section 481.002, Marijuana is defined as the plant Cannabis sativa L, whether be it the seeds of the plant or the grown part itself and every other thing made from it like, a compound, derivative, manufacture, salt, mixture, or any other preparation using this plant or its seeds.

What is not considered Marijuana?

Under Texas law, the following things are not considered Marijuana:

  • The resin that is extracted from the above-mentioned part of the plant or manufacture, compound, salt, derivate, mixture, or any other preparation from the resin.

  • The mature stalks of the above-mentioned plant or fiber that is produced from those stalks.

  • Any oil or cake that is made from the seeds of the plant or manufacture, compound, salt, derivate, mixture, or any other preparation from the fiber, oil, resin, or cake

  • The sterilized seeds of the above-mentioned plant that do not have the capability of starting germination.

Possession of Marijuana Punishment

The penalty for possessing marijuana depends upon the type and amount of marijuana in possession. There are different punishments for different situations. Here is a list that simplifies them:

  • Less than two ounces possession is a Class B Misdemeanor Sentence which receives up to 180 days in county jail, and the person has to pay up to $2,000 fine

  • Less than four ounces possession is a Class A Misdemeanor Sentence which receives up to 1 year in county jail, and the person has to pay up to $4,000 fine.

  • Less than 5 pound is a state jail felony sentence which receives 180 days to 2 years in a state jail, and the person has to pay up to $10,000 fine.

  • Less than 50 pounds is a third-degree felony sentence which receives 2 to 10 years in state prison, and the person has to pay up to $10,000 fine

  • Less than two thousand pounds is a second-degree felony sentence which receives up to 2 to 20 years in state prison, and the person has to pay up to $10,000 fine

  • If two thousand or more than two thousand pounds possession is an enhanced-first degree felony and sentence which could result in 5 to 99 years in state prison, and the person has to pay up to $50,000 fine.

Therefore, if anyone related to you is charged with a serious offense like marijuana possession, you can help them by connecting them with an exceptional attorney who can save their grace by defending them successfully.